Newton Parish Council


The Council

In May 2015, the Parishioners of Newton elected 7 residents to form the Newton Parish Council for a period of 4 years.  

The Councillors, who undertake their duties voluntarily, are supported by the Parish Clerk.

Chairman Paul Presland
01787 379204  EMAIL

Vice Chairman Sue Crawte 01787 377664  07769 484848  EMAIL
Councillors Russell Bower 07939 060878  EMAIL

Lee Parker 01787 376073  EMAIL
  Colin Poole 01787 376448  EMAIL
  Rita Schwenk 01787 210838  EMAIL

  Philip Taylor 01787 211265  EMAIL
Parish Clerk Jane Hatton
01787 468634
Email Clerk

Code of Conduct

In accordance to the Localism Act 2011 ss 26 to 37, Newton Parish Council at its meeting on 9th July 2014 adopted The Suffolk Local Code of Conduct.  You can view a copy of the Councillors' Register of Interests on this website or Babergh District Council's.

General Power of Competence

Newton Parish Council adopted the General Power of Competence at is meeting on the 13th May 2015.


Parish Council meetings are normally held on the second Wednesday of each month starting in January. All Newton residents are invited and encouraged to attend the meetings, with a Public Forum at the start of each meeting.  The Parish Council meetings are held in Newton Village Hall, start at 7.30pm and normally finish by 9.30pm. 

The draft minutes of Newton Parish Council minutes are published to the newsletters and on this website within 4 weeks of the meeting being held.

Roles of Councillors

Councillors Bower, Crawte and Taylor are the members of the HR Committee.

Councillors Parker, Poole and Schwenk are the members of the Standards Committee.  

Councillors Taylor and Poole are the council's representatives on the Newton Green Trust. 

Councillor Schwenk is the council's representative on the Village Hall Management Committee.

Councillor Presland is the Suffolk Association of Local Councils representative.

Alston & Plampin Charity

Alan Vince, Maureen Williams and John Taylor ar the council's representatives on the Alston & Plampin Charity.

Contacting the Parish Clerk

The Parish Clerk can be contacted at any reasonable time during the day or evening, Monday to Friday, Bank Holidays excepted.

Council correspondence

Should be sent to the Parish Clerk via email or at:

8 Prospect Hill
Great Cornard
CO10 0PG